The Status of ASEAN Medical Device Market Trends and Demand

s18072802
0
The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is an organization that encompasses 10 member countries in Southeast Asia, including Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, and Vietnam. Its goal is to promote dialogue and agreement between countries in the Asia-Pacific region.

According to the ASEAN Market Overview survey, as of the end of 2017, the world’s medical device market has reached US$398 billion. On of the main forces driving this trend is the aging population. Statistics show that as the population ages, demand for medical supplies increase, and as the number of patients with chronic diseases or surgery increases, so does the demand for hospitalization and surgery.

7 of the world’s most populous nations are located in the Asia-Pacific region, with a total population of 4.5 billion people. Asia accounts for 60% of the world’s population, and with unprecedented increases in the number of middle-aged and old people (expected to increase to 625 million by 2040), the demand for medical services has also increased. The region’s healthcare market is facing huge business opportunities. Currently, the largest health care exporters in ASEAN are Thailand, Singapore and Malaysia.

As part of the visions of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC), healthcare has been identified as one of the key industries for the ASEAN economy to accelerate development of. This includes five fields: pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, medical devices, traditional medicines, and health supplements.

泰國 — 東協的國際醫療樞紐國

Sources: MDA official website

Thailand – ASEAN’s International Medical Hub

According to the Introduction to Thailand’s Medical Device Market and Regulations report, the value of Thailand’s medical device market in 2016 was about US$126 million. Also, Thailand attracts over 2.5 million international medical tourists, mainly from the Middle East, Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Myanmar, and Cambodia, making Thailand an important medical center in the region. Medical tourism makes up 0.4% of Thailand’s GDP. Thailand is regarded as the first choice for affordable medical care in Southeast Asia, welcoming an average of 1.4 million medical tourists every year. Thailand’s medical tourism revenues reach US$4.3 billion, and have grown at the high rate of 15% per year for the past 10 years. The Thai medical industry attracts foreign investors, especially in the form of mergers and acquisitions of private hospitals, to enter the market, expand consumer groups, and drive demand for medical devices and expansion of market size.

There are around 1000 public hospitals and over 400 private hospitals in Thailand. According to estimates by the Thai Medical Device Technology Industry Association, about 85% of the country’s medical device relies on imports. Thailand’s Kasikornbank Thinktank also analyzed that there are about 319 medical device manufacturers, about 70% of which manufacture disposable medical equipment, such as surgical gloves, syringes, needles, contact lenses, gauze, and bandages; there are also up to 1500 medical device importers and distributers, mainly importing products from the US (24%), China (14%), Japan (12%), and Germany (11%). Products imported from China include basic medical equipment such as optical lenses, while products imported from the US, Japan, and Germany include general medical instruments and in vitro diagnostic medical equipment such as medical device sterilizers, blood pressure meters, blood glucose meters, as well as high tech medical devices such as X ray machines, from renowned brands like Siemens, Toshiba, Omron, and Johnson & Johnson. Products that have future market potential include IT medical systems. Due to the lack of laboratory analysis experts in Thailand, in vitro diagnostic medical equipment that can provide direct reports, and home medical devices that are in even higher demand in an aging society, such as blood pressure meters and blood glucose meters used to observe daily health status, are all products with great potential.

  1. Thailand saw US$3 billion in medical tourism revenue in 2015, and the country has accommodated about 3 million medical tourists over the course of 7 years.
  2. In 2015, Thailand’s imports of medical devices increased 10.8% and exports of medical device increased 8.5%, reflecting the steady growth of Thailand’s healthcare sector.
  3. Thailand’s medical device market scale is expected to increase from ฿48 billion in 2016 to ฿58 billion in 2018.
  4. Statistics show that as of 2017, there were 12141 public hospitals and medical institutions in Thailand, 352 private hospitals, and 10,977 private clinics, with over 50,573 well-trained doctors.
  5. Thailand’s growing healthcare expenditures are increasing at a rate or 6% per year, and are expected to grow from ฿892 billion in 2016 to ฿12 trillion in 2020.

泰國醫療產業吸引境外人士呈逐年成長的趨勢

Source: THAILAND’S MEDICAL HUB

Diagram 2: Annual growth in the number of foreigners attracted by Thailand’s medical industry

With these aforementioned key factors, the development of Thailand’s medical device market continues to thrive. The increasing number of medical tourists to Thailand, rising living standards for Thai people, and the Thai government’s continued goal of developing Thailand as a leading medical center have all contributed to Thailand’s continuous innovation in the healthcare field.

Sources: Medical Devices ASEAN website; Introduction to Thailand’s Medical Device Market and Regulations

東協(ASEAN)醫材市場趨勢與需求現況

s18072802
0
東南亞國家協會(Association of Southeast Asian Nations,ASEAN)中文簡稱東盟或東協,該組織涵蓋東南亞包含新加坡、馬來西亞、泰國及越南等10個成員國家,目標是促進亞太地區的對話和協商。

根據《ASEAN MARKET OVERVIEW》調查到2017年底,全球醫療器材市場達到3,980億美元。其中最主要的驅動因素來自於人口的老化,統計數據顯示,隨著人口老化將導致對於醫療設備需求的增加,並隨著慢性病或手術的患病者提高,導致住院和手術的相關需求增加。

全球人口最多的10個國家中亞太地區就佔了7個,總數超過45億人口數。亞洲人口數佔全球的60%,隨著中高齡者的空前成長(預計到2040年將增加到6.25億人),對於醫療服務需求也隨著提高,該地區的醫療保健市場面對可見龐大商機,目前東協最大的醫療保健出口國為泰國、新加坡及馬來西亞。

作為東協經濟共同體(ASEAN Economic Community,AEC)其中一個願景,醫療保健(Healthcare)已確定為東盟市場為加速發展的重點行業之一。其中包含有5個領域:藥品(pharmaceuticals),化妝品(cosmetics),醫療設備(medical devices),傳統藥物(traditional medicines)和保健品(health supplements)。

泰國 — 東協的國際醫療樞紐國

資料來源:MDA官方網站

圖1、泰國 — 東協的國際醫療樞紐國

根據《泰國醫療器材市場及法規簡介》的報告指出,2016年泰國醫療器材市場總額約為1.26億美元,此外,泰國每年吸引超過 250 萬之國際醫療觀光客,主要客源來自中東、葉門、沙烏地阿拉伯、緬甸、柬埔寨等國家,為區域重要醫療中心。泰國的醫療旅遊約占 GDP 的 0.4%,泰國被視為東南亞平價醫療的首選之地,平均每年有 140 萬名的醫療觀光客,泰國在醫療觀光的收入達43 億美元,過去 10 年並以每年 15%的高度成長。泰國醫療產業吸引外人投資,尤其以併購私立醫院的方式進入市場,擴大消費族群,同時帶動醫療器材的需求面及市場規模。

泰國有約 1000 家公立醫院及 400 多家私立醫院,依據泰國醫療器材工業協會估計,約85%醫療器材仰賴進口﹔泰國開泰銀行智庫亦分析,泰國約有 319 家醫療器材製造商,製造拋棄式醫療器具,如手術手套、注射器、針頭、隱形眼鏡、紗布、繃帶等約占 70%;另有多達 1,500 家醫療器材進口及經銷商,主要進口國來自美國(24%)、中國大陸(14%)、日本(12%)、德國(11%),自中國大陸進口之產品主要包含基礎醫療器材如光學鏡頭等,自美、日、德則進口一般醫療器具、體外診斷醫療器材如醫療器具消毒器、血壓測量計、血糖儀等、高科技醫療器材如 X 光機器等,知名品牌如SIEMENS、TOSHIBA、OMRON、Johnsons &Johnsons。未來具市場潛力產品包括 IT 醫療系統、因泰國欠缺實驗室分析專家,可直接提供檢測報告之體外診斷醫療器材等、及隨著高齡化社會而更需要之家用醫療器材以觀測每日健康情形,如血壓測量計、血糖測量計等是皆是未來潛力產品。

  1. 2015年,醫療旅遊業為泰國帶進超過30億美元的收入,累計7年約300萬名醫療遊客。
  2. 2015年,泰國醫療器材進口增長8%,醫療器材出口增長8.5%,反映了泰國醫療行業的穩步成長。
  3. 泰國醫療設備的市場規模預計將從2016年的480億泰銖增加10%至2018年的580億泰銖。
  4. 截至2017年統計泰國有12141間公立醫院和醫療機構,352間私立醫院和10,977間私人診所,擁有超過50,573名受過良好訓練的醫生。
  5. 泰國不斷增加的醫療保健支出以每年成長6%的速度,預計從2016年的฿8,920億泰銖,成長到2020年的฿12萬億泰銖。

泰國醫療產業吸引境外人士呈逐年成長的趨勢

資料來源:THAILAND’S MEDICAL HUB

圖2、泰國醫療產業吸引境外人士呈逐年成長的趨勢

就前文中提到幾個關鍵因素,泰國的醫療設備市場持續的蓬勃發展。隨著泰國日益增加的醫療旅遊人數,以及泰國公民生活水平的提高,加上泰國政府仍繼續以將泰國發展為領先的醫療中心為政策目標,這些都促成了該國在醫療保健這一領域的不斷創新。

資料來源:Medical Devices ASEAN website、泰國醫療器材市場及法規簡介